Using B+W with Snow

Posted on

I am still chugging along with my edits from yesterday’s spontaneous shoot. I probably have mentioned it before, but it’s worth restating it; I don’t usually shoot portraits. But the few times that I have, I really enjoyed the experience. One on one shoots are the best. Especially if I am comfortable with my model, it really ends up being a collaborative process rather than me dictating  about something I don’t understand fully.

Going through about 80 out of the 215 shots -we were on fire having only about an hour’s worth of daylight to work with- I am surprised so many came out alright. Obviously, there is more likely a solid 20 that are going to be used. But going through so many images, I have to say thank you Adobe Lightroom for virtual copies. I will go through spurts of about 3-4 images that are in need of roughly the same edits. But once I get to a different shot that needs a different edit, I start thinking of a different style.

Black and white is sometimes the first difference that comes to mind. Another one is boosting or lowering the clarity. Various elements that are in these shots come from different images I have seen on my Feedly or Flickr. More evident in the bottom shot; I thought that blowing out the snow would add to a softer look. I don’t typically drop the clarity slider in Lightroom, I usually just shoot to blur out the background if I want that effect. But I went ahead and did that anyway because it juxtaposed the model’s expression. In the series of photographs, I really like the bottom shot. Not sure why just yet, but it really stands out among the other images.

DanKain-14

4 thoughts on “Using B+W with Snow

    Gracie said:
    12/12/2013 at 11:15 am

    Very nice portrait, Jack!

    johnpfinch said:
    13/12/2013 at 1:35 am

    I admire anyone that can manage the subject take a good portrait, I prefer landscapes, they don’t move anywhere!

      Jack Viere said:
      13/12/2013 at 12:38 pm

      Haha! That’s almost verbatim of how I put it. There’s so much emotion on a face that is there for a second, and then it’s gone. It’s hard to capture that raw feeling. Landscapes have emotion. But aside from light, there isn’t as much pressure to capture the scene as quickly and efficiently as portraiture. Two different ball games. I also prefer landscapes…

Leave a Reply

