Under the Bridge, Philly

Image Posted on

I really loved taking this shot. I had some variations on where I stood so that my angle was different. After a few weeks of playing around with perspective, I realized that I like this off-centered angle the most. The reason being that the depth of field is really increased when your eye can see how far back the bridge arches go. Straight on, the camera cannot capture the bridge legs/arches because they are behind each other.

I adjusted the contrast, shadows, and blacks to get the right amount of darkness I wanted. I also boosted my clarity up; especially in these urbex type of shots.

Portfolio-6

9 thoughts on “Under the Bridge, Philly

    lukewinterborne said:
    14/12/2013 at 1:32 pm

    Gosh … it’s utterly amazing. Beautiful.

      Jack Viere said:
      14/12/2013 at 2:06 pm

      Thanks, Luke! I recently found a new interest in urban exploration (urbex). Typically, I like to shoot landscapes/cityscapes. But I hike when I’m not in the city. So walking around in one of the US’ largest city parks gave me some new ideas!

        lukewinterborne said:
        14/12/2013 at 2:09 pm

        I should imagine. I so admire photography, it’s one of those mutably immutable art forms. Of course, I cannot take a photograph worth keeping … but I can write, which is some compensation … maybe. Anyway, I’m in awe of you and your work. I was thinking about you as I walked around Paris this evening, wondering how you would photograph certain things. Paris is chock full of strange urban vistas (and people!).

        Jack Viere said:
        14/12/2013 at 2:11 pm

        I might jump over there when I’m abroad this upcoming semester. It’s an expensive city on the list of places I want to visit…
        Shoot with your smartphone, I’d love to see your perspective!

        lukewinterborne said:
        14/12/2013 at 2:14 pm

        Okay … and perhaps I can help you out on the accommodation front in Paris. Don’t hold your breath for anything great. I do have a shot that I like of the Pont Marie … perhaps I’ll post that !

        Jack Viere said:
        14/12/2013 at 2:15 pm

        Good deal! Be in touch.

    johnpfinch said:
    14/12/2013 at 1:48 pm

    Look like you’ve done a good job with the exposure here. There’s good shadow detail and you’ve held the highlights well too. I like shots with repeating patterns like this, there’s a great feeling of recession.

      Jack Viere said:
      14/12/2013 at 2:04 pm

      I really like keeping the details in the shadows while pushing the histogram. Thanks for the comments, John! Please keep them coming!

    imaginenewdesigns12 said:
    20/12/2013 at 9:01 pm

    Thank you for following imaginenewdesigns and for liking “Icescapes.” I like the geometry and the textures in this photograph. The lighting emphasizes that this is an out-of-the-way place, which works well for an urbex photo. Good luck with your studies and Happy Holidays! 🙂

Leave a Reply

