Been Awhile…

Image Posted on

…and there are no new photos to show for it. I did, however, finally receive my Canon 5D! And I have been very excited that my 75-300mm and 50mm 1.4 Canon lenses work on the EF mount. I love the simplicity of the dials and buttons. I will admit that even with a battery grip, I still walk around with my camera off. So when I raise the viewfinder to my eye, I instinctively move my right thumb to switch on the camera to no avail. The Rebel’s body is very different from this professional grade setup. I haven’t had any great situations to shoot, nor the lens to experiment with the full body sensor, orΒ a CF card reader. But I am getting around to those things! (I can’t change the weather, but I have been shooting random objects with the 50mm to get a good feel for my camera).

Because I am going abroad in less than two weeks, I wanted to save as much money as possible. I plan to shoot a lot while over there, but I don’t think the weather will immediately permit me to shoot landscapes at 17 or 18mm. So there’s no rush to get something wider than 50mm at the moment.

I need to swing by BestBuy (again) in the holiday hubbub to grab a CF card reader. Yuck.

In other news, I am cleaning up my usage of social media apps. By that I mean I am using a platform the way it was intended to be used. I have Twitter, WordPress, Tumblr, Instagram, a Facebook page, a self-hosted domain, and Flickr accounts–so many things to keep track of! So I will have my Instagram feed on the right side of my WordPress. Those will hopefully be images with little to no explanations or blurbs. That’s for my WordPress! It will be my travel log, journal, and resource for asking questions!

IMG_2153

2 thoughts on “Been Awhile…

    johnpfinch said:
    22/12/2013 at 2:28 pm

    Working with a fixed focal length is the best way to hone your compositional skills as we’ll, so it’s all good news with a 50mm!
    I have no idea how you have the time to keep up with so many social networks!

      Jack Viere said:
      22/12/2013 at 2:53 pm

      I think that holding off on a new lens will allow for me to get the Canon 17-40mm later down the road instead of a 3rd party lens.

      As to the social networks, I use IFTTT recipes to keep things interconnected and alive. I just wish Instagram allowed for a mote professional use of their app–allow for photographers to post images from another platform/app via an IFTTT recipe.

      Are there any CF readers you’d recommend?

Leave a Reply

