Dust Spots, Self-Portraits, and More Posts

Posted on

Well, my time here in Ireland has flown by and I am staring down the last month I have left abroad. In retrospect, my workflow didn’t translate all too well when I started traveling, hence, I didn’t have too many posts. What posts I did have were compromised of low-res iPhone shots. That’s nice to an extent, but now I have a lot of work to catch up on, starting with the insane amount of RAW files I have sitting on a hard drive.

Dust spots. I am incredibly angry at how many dust spots there are on my sensor. I was treating this used Canon 5D like a baby and was even using one of those nasal spray devices to clean the sensor with air and gravity…I know for a fact the dust wasn’t from my lenses. So even after today’s cleaning, I was still disappointed to find the usual suspects in the same spots. Any photographers out there know what I should do? I don’t have any sufficient cleaning supplies, besides what I’d use on my lens.

Image

I have been alone a whole lot on this trip, something I did not anticipate valuing as much as I do now. But in most cases, I didn’t bring my bulky tripod. So in order to shoot these self-portraits, a new sub-genre I’ve become found of after visiting so many art museums throughout Europe, I had to prop my camera on whatever I could. Then, with the 10 second timer counting down, I’d have to dart to my desired position, with the focus locked on wherever my butt would be. For the above shot, I slipped into the lake a few times; even though the image was shot with a 50mm (close to what our eyes see), I think I was further away from the camera than it seems. So I really had to rush out before the timer went off and compose myself quickly.

Self-Portrait-2

Family members wanted me to be in some of the photos I was taking, but the awkwardly spaced iPhone selfie was not appropriate for what I wanted to capture. In both instances, these images were intended to portray the feeling got while being there instead of what the viewer him/herself sees when viewing the photograph.

With that being said, I’m looking forward to getting back to posting more routinely!

3 thoughts on “Dust Spots, Self-Portraits, and More Posts

    Patrizia M. said:
    30/04/2014 at 11:06 pm

    Nonostante tutti i problemi che hai avuto, le foto sono belle!!
    Saluti, Patrizia

    benrowef64 said:
    02/05/2014 at 6:49 am

    To clean my sensor, my camera has an automatic cleaning process when ever it is turned on and off yet there are some persistent buggers. In this case I use a lens pen. It is a pen with a flat triangular end that you lightly drag across the sensor to clean it. very good and don’t cost a lot, I would say most camera shops should have them in stock.

      Jack Viere responded:
      02/05/2014 at 11:47 am

      Thanks a lot for the recommendation! This sounds like just what I need. Canon 5Ds (not a mark I or II) have that but like you said, there are some persistent ones. Going to the camera shop today to see what I can find.

Leave a Reply

